Department of Mathematics and Systems Analysis


Laskutupa (mathematics tutoring lab)

Laskutupa closed at the end of period IV and will re-open in period I, autumn 2021

The tutors will be online as per the regular schedule (see below)

On-line only (Y190c, Otakaari 1 is NOT in use)


  • 10 - 16 Mon, Wed, Thur
  • 10 - 17 Tue
  • 10 - 15 Fri
  • See the detailed schedule below
  • The tutors are also working some extra flexible hours. So you may get your questions answered at other times too.

  • Laskutupa is a free help centre primarily aimed at students in the basic mathematics courses (MS-A) although students from any mathematics courses are welcome to come for help.
  • You can ask questions in Zulip at any time without the need for advance registration.
  • (Currently not in use. You are welcome to study in the room alone or in a group.)
  • The Zulip chat room is staffed with 1 or 2 tutors per the schedule below and at other ad hoc times.
  • The tutors can help you with general concepts and difficulties you may have understading the lecture materials. They will also help you solve exercises by guiding you towards a solution. But please don't expect them to solve your exercises for you. Also note that tutors can not be expected to be immediately familiar with the details of every course. See below for information on which tutors have exepertise in which advanced courses.
Contact: David Radnell, M223, Otakaari 1,

Detailed Schedule: (updated on 03.03.2021)

  • Besides the scheduled hours, tutors will be working some extra hours at ad hoc times.
  • There may be small changes in the schedule from week to week.

Period III, 04.03 - 14.04, 2020

 Weeks 9-15  MON TUE WED THU FRI
 10-11 HO SP HO GM AM
 11-12 TL SP HO GM MM
 12-13 EL MM GM SP TL
 13-14 EL MM GM EM  TL
 14-15 AM EM TR VS TR
 15-16 AM EM TR VS  
 16-17   VS      

Note! Each tutor has one or more superpowers. It is advisable, if possible, to target a tutor whose superpower is helpful in solving your problem!
Tutors and their superpowers:

AE = Asmae el Issaoui (M, T)
AI = Antti Immonen (M, D, R, T)
AM = Anssi Mirka (M, D, L, R, T, K, O)
EL = Eeli Lamponen (M, T, L, R, O)
EM = Eija Myötyri (M, L, D)
GM = Georg Metsalo (M, S, D, T)
HO = Hannu Ojanen (M, K, R, T)
HP = Heikki Pokela (M, L)
JM = Jonna Mikkonen (M, T, L, E)
MM = Markku Malmivuori (M, K, L, T)
ML= Miika Leinonen (M, T, E, D)
SL = Sami Londén (M, D)
SP = Sami Piippo (M, K)
TL = Tuomas Lebedeff (M, L, R, T, St)
TR = Tommi Raita (M)
VS = Ville Saarikivi (M)

M = matematiikka (differentiaali- ja integraalilaskenta 1 - 3, matriisilaskenta)
T = todennäköisyyslaskenta ja tilastotiede
K = kompleksianalyysi
L = lineaarialgebra ja differentiaaliyhtälöt
O = osittaisdifferentiaaliyhtälöt
R = Fourier-analyysi
E = Euclidean spaces
D = diskreetti matematiikka
N = numeeriset menetelmät ja Matlab
St= stochastic processes
S = svenskspråkig

Page content by: webmaster-math [at] list [dot] aalto [dot] fi