Department of Mathematics and Systems Analysis

Department of Mathematics and Systems Analysis

The five main research areas of the Department are: algebra and discrete mathematics; analysis; numerical analysis and inverse problems; stochastics and statistics; systems analysis and operations research. We offer major and minor studies at the bachelor's and master's level and provide doctoral research training. Our graduates have been recruited by universities, research institutes, governmental agencies as well as companies in the financial, energy and transportation sectors, for instance.


22.4. 13:30  Ivy Woo: Partial Lattice Trapdoors: How to Split Lattice Trapdoors, Literally – Väre Q203

22.4. 16:15  Gerald Williams (University of Essex): Incidence graphs of generalized polygons and star graphs of group presentations with cyclic symmetry – M3 (M234)

24.4. 10:15  Anna-Mariya Otsetova: Axisymmetric capillary water waves with vorticity and swirl connecting to static unduloid configurations – M3 (M234)

24.4. 14:15  Leevi Kaukonen: MSc thesis presentation – M3 (M234)

25.4. 9:15  Lauri Nyman: Distance to singularity for matrix pencils via Riemannian optimization – M2 (M233)

29.4. 14:15  Joonas Laaksonen: MSc thesis presentation – M3 (M234)

29.4. 16:15  Oula Kekäläinen: MSc thesis presentation – M3 (M234)

7.5. 15:15  Rodrigo Martín Sánchez-Ledesma (Complutense U. Madrid / INDRA): Overview and extension of root-based attacks against PLWE instances – M2 (M233)

13.5. 14:15  Dr. Benjamin Jany (TU Eindhoven): TBA – M2 (M233)

13.5. 16:15  Lilja Metsälampi: Midterm review – M3 (M234)

15.5. 11:15  Lauri Särkiö: TBA/Midterm review – M3 (M234)

15.5. 14:15  Kai Hippi: TBA – M3 (M234)

16.5. 10:15  Sari Rogovin: Linear dilatation and absolute continuity – M3 (M234)


Tarley Fantazzini (Federal University of Sao Carlos) 1.2.–31.7.

Lorenzo Zacchini (Università di Bologna) 22.2.–27.5.

Flávio Lim-Apo (Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro) 1.4.–30.9.

Miryam Gnazzo (Gran Sasso Science Institute) 8.4.–4.5.

Gerald Williams (University of Essex) 14.4.–5.7.

Page content by: webmaster-math [at] list [dot] aalto [dot] fi