Matematiikan ja systeemianalyysin laitos

Matematiikan ja systeemianalyysin laitos

Laitoksen viisi keskeistä tutkimusaluetta ovat: algebra ja diskreetti matematiikka; analyysi; sovellettu matematiikka ja mekaniikka; stokastiikka ja tilastotiede; systeemianalyysi ja operaatiotutkimus. Tarjoamme pää- ja sivuainekokonaisuuksia kandi- ja maisteritasolla sekä tohtorikoulutusta jatko-opiskelijoille. Laitokselta viime aikoina valmistuneet ovat sijoittuneet yliopistoihin, tutkimuslaitoksiin, julkishallintoon sekä yrityksiin esimerkiksi finanssi-, energia- ja liikennesektoreilla.


19.12. 10:15  Aristides Gionis (Aalto University): Mining temporal networks (lisätietoja) – U3

19.12. 11:15  Lauri Viitasaari (University of Helsinki): On model fitting and estimation of stationary processes (lisätietoja) – U3

19.12. 12:15  Dr David Cushing (Durham University): Ollivier-Ricci idleness functions of graphs – M2 (M233)

19.12. 13:30  Roland Bauerschmidt (University of Cambridge): Eigenvectors and spectral measure of random regular graphs of fixed degree (lisätietoja) – U3

19.12. 14:30  Mikko Pakkanen (Imperial College London): Rough volatility: towards efficient Monte Carlo pricing and calibration (lisätietoja) – U3

19.12. 15:45  Eveliina Peltola (University of Geneva): Multiple SLEs for \kappa \leq 4 (lisätietoja) – U3

20.12. 14:15  Timmavajjula Venkata Karthik (IISER): Symmetric group action on the cohomology algebra of configuration space of particles in R^3 – M3 (M234)


Negin Karimi (University of Mohaghegh Ardabili, Iran) 31.7.2017–31.1.2018

Huilian Jia (Xián Jiaotong University) 4.9.2017–31.10.2018

Emil Sköldberg (NUI Galway) 8.9.–29.12.

Felix Schwenninger (University of Hamburg) 10.12.–14.12.

Roland Bauerschmidt (University of Cambridge) 16.12.–20.12.

David Cushing (Durham University) 17.12.–22.12.


SCI Awards 2017 – winners and nominees

15. joulukuuta 2017

The School of Science celebrated the year 2017 by congratulating the great work done in research, teaching and service.

See SCI Award winners and nominees – and some lovely things said about the winners – below.

Happy holidays and thank you for a fine year's work!


Nuutti Hyvönen

Nuutti takes care of his duties as programme director efficiently and decisions related to students are never late because of Nuutti. He considers each student as an individual, puts his mind into the special questions of the student, and thinks things through according to the best interest of the student. Nuutti’s exceptional work and co-operative attitude is highly appreciated by students, the department, and Learning Services alike.


Minna Westerlund

“Minna knows everything, solves any problems, and is always ready to take an extra step to make work/research/whatever easy and fluent for others. With her positive can-do attitude she is the soul of the department. Behind her back we call her "supersihteeri Minna" :)”

“Her office door is open, and even when Minna is super busy, she finds time to help. Moreover, Minna is super helpful and never lets you down. She's the reason why everything in our laboratory seems to work and get done effortlessly.”

“Minna is always positive, helpful and overall the best person for her position that I can imagine. She is reliable and her friendly attitude welcomes requests of all kind. She is one the most important persons at the department: she has decades of expertise, which is invaluable and irreplaceable.”

Sivusta vastaa: webmaster-math [at] list [dot] aalto [dot] fi